I just got my hands on a vintage tamiya subaru imprezza 99 whitch i restored and now want to conevert offroad

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dogman888

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
I have a old tamiya rc nitro car that I dismantled and restored and everything seems fine but the body shell is all cracked and I wish to replace it, I was thinking maybe a pickup truck shell and I also wish to buy some offroad tyres for it.
The only problem is this is my first nitro rc car and I have no experience could I get any opinions pls

Welcome in @Dogman888 , there is a few bodies available on amazon but not exactly sure if they would be the correct fit. If anything, you may need to modify it a little bit to get it to fit. The clear bodies are painted on the inside with polycarbonate paint. Other paints will peal in no time. Not sure if you knew that or not.
As far as offroad tires, I have no clue. I'm not familiar with this car but have fun with it and experiment.

I have a old tamiya rc nitro car that I dismantled and restored and everything seems fine but the body shell is all cracked and I wish to replace it, I was thinking maybe a pickup truck shell and I also wish to buy some offroad tyres for it.
The only problem is this is my first nitro rc car and I have no experience could I get any opinions pls
Welcome to RCT. That kit is a off road 4x4 rally car. Are you trying to make it a basher?? For jumping and what not? As for the pick up body you would need to buy body post
Extention to raise up the body. As for the tires you probably need some wheel hub extentions. To get the bigger tire width to fit....

You can look at some of Tamiya TGM, Bison Truck body and tires. If yours is a 10 scale, TG-10, you can use pretty much most Tamiya or HPI truck bodies.