HPI F4.1 Blew up

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tos

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm new to this hobby and probably a little too old to be playing with a hobbly like this. My nice looking Savage X with an F4.1 engine worked great the first 10 tanks of fuel that it went through. After sitting unused for about a year(with the 1 gallon fuel container tightly sealed), the grand kids asked me to pull it out. I blew it off, filled the fuel tank and on the 3 crank, it fired up. After it warmed up, I picked up the truck and started to walk across the street to let the kids run it. As I walked, I kept rev'ing the engine until all of the sudden it ceased up. After tearing down the engine, the piston was shattered and the connecting rod looked like it melted off the bottom of the piston. I ordered a new engine...but my question is...What did I do wrong? Could over reving have done it in. I don't know how hot it was although I did remember that I bought a nice digital temp gage. (Forgot that I had it)

2nd question, when the new engine comes, I will have to pull off the clutch. After removing the screw and washers, what else holds the clutch pads and the silver plate behind it on the shaft>

Thanks for your help.

Tos :whhooo:

Welcome to RCNT my friend, and we assure you your never too old for the hobby..

Welcome to the place to be. The only thing I can think of is if you revved the engine with no load then would fry any engine. Also another thing you want to do is in the future is if you're not sure of the current engine settings, you should check them after the engine does get warm.