first timer Starter box question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

edzykan

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I just finished building my hellfire ss I have always had pullstart engines before but in the .28 engine class all the engines i like are bumpstart, and i have never used a starter box before. Will any of them work as long as they say for 1/8 scale? I will leave some links to the ones i found, please give some advice on which ones i would like. Or other boxes that are better.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/ProductGallery.aspx?ProdID=DYN5625
Dynamite Torque-Start Heavy Duty Starter Box

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_info.php/cPath/1_23_52/products_id/9126 Kyosho Multi Starter Box Pro 2.0

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_info.php/cPath/1_23_52/products_id/5429 OFNA 1/10 & 1/8 Chrome Top Starter Box w/12V Motor

You will need one that will do 1/8 off road.

The ofna chrome top is a good choice. The link you posted is for one you need t put together. You can also get one pre-assembled. You will need a 12v gel cell and a charger.

+1 for the Ofna Chrome top. Now you want a starter box with serious ass, throw an HT Batteries LiPo starter box battery in that sucka!

+1 for the Ofna Chrome top. Now you want a starter box with serious ass, throw an HT Batteries LiPo starter box battery in that sucka!

For some reason, the HT Batteries website says that the HT500 Lipo will only fit in the (non chrome top) box... :(

Can't go wrong with the chrome top... I have two of them and they work great!

Tom

It'll fit in any box just about. It's pretty small, it fits in a chrome top just fine, you just use a ty-wrap to hold it in place.