Car wont start

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Graham.S

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Please bare with me I'm a total newbie when it comes to nitro stuff.
I got given a carnage nt that has never been run probably for the same reason that i need to post here it just simply wont start.

I had a go last year and replaced the tank as the lid didnt shut properly, new No.4 glow plug bought new fuel last year too, hardly used any due to the fact it wouldnt run.

So I'm thinking about putting the engine back to factory settings which are as follows.

Main Needle Valve – High Speed Adjustment (HSA) Screw down until resistance is met, and no further movement is apparent. RE-OPEN 3 1/4 TURNS.

Throttle Adjustment Screw – Idle Adjustment (IA) Gently shut off carburettor sliding body and slowly re-open by means of adjusting screw. ADJUST SCREW UNTIL APPROX 1 or 1 1/4mm OF APERTURE APPEARS BETWEEN THE END OF THE THROTTLE BODY AND AIR INTAKE APERTURE.

Sub Throttle Needle Valve – Low Speed Adjustment (LSA) With adjustment screw setting in place, close off the throttle body against the screw. Very gently screw in the needle valve until it closes off the supply fuel nozzle and is prevented from re-opening by the entry of the needle valve into the centre hole of the fuel nozzle (work with great care with this one - we are only looking for minimal frictional contact between both parts). RE-OPEN VALVE 2 1/2 TURNS

Now i get the first 2 but am a bit baffled by the last one, can anyone explain how i go about doing the last step?

If i drop a drop or 2 in the engine it runs briefly then dies so I'm guessing no fuel is getting through.

Any help gratefully received.

Thanks.
G.

Is that the Go 18 engine with the 2 needle carb.?