2.5r won't shift...idles high

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eric.evans.718

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I just bought this 2.5r t maxx and it runs but it high idles very high and won't shift...I tried adjusting the idle screw and it didn't do anything...any ideas?

I bought it used...I have no idea if it is fully broken in...I'm a newbie

Still have no luck....I talked to traxxas and they said it's not tuned right and the idle May be to high...well it's tuned to the factory settings and it still does the same thing... It will run just fine for about a minute and then it just won't move and then it'll die and doesn't want to start....I'm frustrated

No I haven't....I didn't think that would have anything to do with it since it will drive for about a min or so and then it will just stop going forward and just rev. Once I get it started again it will do the same thing.

I've had slippers that would "hold" for a few minutes then start giving out. After it sits for a minute, they would hold again.

The slipper is why my T-Maxx 3.3 wouldn't shift. It would for the first few minutes and then it wouldn't, and it would rev high. First thing i checked was the slipper and it was loose. Tightened it down and it runs as it should.

Keep us updated.

-Nitro

Factory settings are not meant for running, but for break-in.
If it moves forward, then stops and revs, either you have a bad clutch or a problem with the slipper. Once it cools down it moves forward again. You might want to pull the clutch bell and check for worn or glazed shoes and bell if the loose slipper is not the problem.
If it's glazed it will slip when it's hot.

I checked the slipper clutch and it's tight....I guess the next step is too check the clutch..