2.5 goes dead after running five minutes

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LilREd12

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
I have a 2.5R and it starts and idels. After you drive it around for about five minutes it want idel. Can someone please help. I am new to the sport and do not know much about it.

I have a 2.5R and it starts and idels. After you drive it around for about five minutes it want idel. Can someone please help. I am new to the sport and do not know much about it.

increase your idle speed???

It has had about 12 tanks ran through it.

I had a 2.5 doing the same thing but would also be really had to restart till it cooled done a bit, ended up being low compression, put in new piston an bore and has been fine since, obviously check fuel system first for blockages and contamination, if it turns out to be a compression issue after so few tanks of fuel you have probably run to lean/hot.

tune at half a tank it tendes to lean out as it gets empty I ran into that problem when I first started

hey rolex dont mean to steal the thread but if hes not guna answer ill go. Mine is doing the same thing from cold starts right up then about 5min runnin it gets up ta 300+ and is veary hard to start again untill it gets down under 200 or so then starts right up again. i have a new hot plug in it and new fuel

Last edited:
Rolex thats fine. I have been out of town with a family emergency!

My is doing the same thing. It cuts off when the temp gets to 295 and it is hard to start back. once it cools down to about 200 it starts and runs fine. I put a new glow plug in and run new clean fuel everytime.