XL starts wide open?!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HausBoss

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
hello everyone, first post on the forum, I'm new to the world of nitro RC trucks so needless to say I'm still learning. Seems you guys know your stuff here, so here goes nothin.
Bought an XL a couple months ago, everything is still stock except i had to upgrade my steering servo to a Futaba during break-in.
I have been having problems holding a tune so i sealed my engine with permatex ultra copper rtv and green slime.
Took it out for a test run today and it looks like i mightve used a lil too much RTV... it stalled and i couldnt get it started, so i pulled out my glow plug to check it, it was totally dead and had a little piece of RTV wedged in it.
I'm hoping that any remaining excess RTV just works its way outta the engine on its own...?
Replaced the glow plug and it was running okay, i flipped it and it stalled.
Now, when i start this beast, it starts in full throttle!! what the!!!!
I have to hold the brake for it to stay still @idle speed..but if i let off the brakes it revvs up to full throttle!
so the only way i could drive it was by letting off the brake.. and it is only front wheel drive now haha :D WHAT DID I DO!!!

Ok so I have front wheel drive because a set screw fell outta one of the rear drive shaft joints.... But why am I stuck wide open?