what keeps the glow plug hot?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kbeckwith17

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Can you guys settle an argument for me? There is a friend of mine who believes the glow plug stays hot primarily from compression and I believe it stays hot primarily from the fire in the engine. This friend of mine is pretty well known on this site and I don't want to call him out.....

Kevin

well, I'm no engineer but I would think it would be the fire that lights up the plug, it stay hot for an instant while the piston goes through the cycle then the piston compresses the fuel and air and then the plug ignites the mixture. The way I think about it, the plug is already hot and glowing when compression starts. It seems to me that it's the combination of compression and the glow plug that creates the combustion thus keeping the plug hot. So I'm guessing it's primarily the engines firing that keeps the plug hot. But let's see what the techies have to say....

Lessen, I think you talked yourself into a corner there. :jk:

The engines work off a principle similar to diesel engines. The glow plug gets the cylinder environment hot enough to fire off. Once going, the engine develops enough heat through compression to fire the fuel charge. The glow plug may still be warm and contributes to the effect, but it is the compression (read; friction of compressed molecules) that provides the necessary heat to fire the fuel mixture.

like I said, I'm not an engineer. I'm here to learn just like him.

I was just guessing.

So since compression provides the heat necessary for combustion, is the glowing of the plug actually necessary after the initial start of the engine?