What are the must have upgrades???

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scr2000

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I am new to nitro RC cars (i have a few planes) and am waiting on my T-Maxx to arrive. I know I have a lot of reading to do, but I was wondering what you experienced T-maxxers think are the upgrades that are REALLY worth the money. I know I'll get a bunch of different opinions here, but I am just curious to hear what you all think. Thanks!

First thing is an inline fuel filter. That's a must. It will save you a bunch of heartache in the future. And get rechargeable batteries for the transmitter and receiver. This thing will suck up alkalines left and right. It's much cheaper to get rechargeables.

Motor Saver Air Filter
Failsafe

Any preferred brandnames???

Motor Saver is the brand name of the air filter.
Either a Venom or Ofna failsafe will do fine.
I use a Dubro fuel filter

Get skid plates and the servo protector. It'll keep rocks and crap from breaking the Drive shafts.

Last edited:
its pretty good idea to get center skid, i made mine, it also covers the servo too.

as far as must haves, the fuel filter and air filter are the most important. after that its mostly personall preference, depending on the type of driving you like. i like to really push my truck hard so i invested in a roll cage, someone else might want a lighter/stronger chassis for racing or a clutch, ect.
after the few main basics its customization for your specific wants/needs.