traxxas stempede vs traxxas x max

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbte

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
  3. Crawling
should i buy a x maxx or a stempede (I'm a newbie with a toy grade rn)
edit: can some1 recommend and tell me the pros and cons of each
Edit2: i am up for other car suggestions

Last edited:
Theyre both great kits but an Xmaxx is a 1/5 scale and the stampede is a 1/10 scale so theres a huuuuuuuge size difference here. if you go stampede get the 4wd stampede.

This isnt Apples to apples.. Honey Crisp...This is a 1/6 scale 10 pounds beast to a good 1/10 scale. If your budget is more free Id get the Maxx a 4x4 pede is also a great rc.. do you want speed? maxx.. do you want go anywhere thats both,, 2 cell v 4 cell ..1/10 vs 1/6 scale.Id get the maxx

X-Maxx if you have the room. Stampede is best for smaller areas. An Arrma Kraton 6s is also a good choice! But, what is your budget?

Theyre both great kits but an Xmaxx is a 1/5 scale and the stampede is a 1/10 scale so theres a huuuuuuuge size difference here. if you go stampede get the 4wd stampede.
if i get a stampede id get a 4x4 vxl

if i get a stampede id get a 4x4 vxl
TL;DR: In my opinion, the Granite 3s is a much better truck than the Stampede 4x4 VXL.

I recommend the Arrma Granite 3s instead, it’s super durable and pretty cheap! My cousin has one, and he’s very reckless when using it, he hasn’t broke anything yet after using it for 2 weeks in cold weather. It’s also super fast out of the box! The motor and esc never overheat in the Granite due to the electronics being perfect for the application unlike the Stampede’s electronics. My Slash 2wd vxl overheated super quickly with light running and on 3s with stock gears.