Traxxas Slash Battery help

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metallicats33

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Well My buddy and I decided to get Slash's. What Battery's should we get? I'm sorry but I'm a complete noob when it comes to battery types and set ups. We are going to keep everything stock and are looking for good run times with good power. I was thinking a 7-cell 3000 mah. Will that give me at least 20 min of run time and decent power? or would a 6-cell 4200 mah be better? Any suggestions would be very helpfull...

Last edited:
6 cell 4200 will give you longer run time, the 7 cell 3000 will give you more power. ;-) The guys locally run the Spec class with 6 cells...and they generally use up a good 3000mah in the 12 min main (plus 5 min or practice prior to the main). So the 4200 should last you around the 20min mark depending on how you drive it.

thanks for the info. so I'm assuming the higher the mah# the longer the run time, and the more cells = more power.... ah it all makes sense now... What run time do you think I would get out of a 7-cell 3000 (more power is nice) Reason I'm asking is because both these batteries are the same price and in my price range. Also can the Slash STOCK handle 8-cell?

Yup. More cells = More voltage = More power. According to what I found, the Slash will only handle a 6-7 cell OR a 2S Lipo Pack. If you want a good mix of speed and run time....go with a Lipo ;-) ...and if we guess a 4600 will run @ 20 min....then the 3000 should run @ 13min give or take. Just some crude math though....so I have no idea how accurate that is ;-)

Now are lipos in a world of their own? A guy at my LHS said a 2s Lipo @4000 will run 30-40 min and a top speed of 40-45... Does that sound right?