Traxxas 4-TEC Or HPI RS4 RTR3

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

banksie312

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
HI
I'm just getting into Nitro racing cars. I was trying to decide between Traxxas 4-TEC or the HPI RS4 RTR 3. THey are both nice but the Traxxas has a 2 speed transmission, but it is a belt drive which i heard can be a pain due to rocks. I will primarily be driving on parking lots and things like that. The HPI doesn't have the 2 speed tranny, but is shaft drive so there are almost no rock problems. If there are any other ideas that you have for me, please respond, I'm open to all ideas. Thanks A lot.

i have the rs4 3ss. its shaft driven, 2 speed trans, and is great for bashing. the only thing is that its a kit. which isnt too bad if you have basic mechanic skills and want to get to know your rc quick. i recommend it highly for someone starting out and just wants to get used to driving an rc in parking lots. i wish you luck in this hobby,or addiction.

cesar

Sup dude,

Welcome to the addiction like the above poster pointed out. I love real cars and happy plenty of awesome ones but lately I've spent more money on toy cars then real ones...lol.

I have the Nitro 4-Tec pro that's now running a bad ass Sirio .18 (T-maxx 3.0) engine and it's one of the if not the fastest nitro cars on the outdoor track here. The car is rediculously fast (hell, with the 2.5 it was really fast) I've already won 2 out of 3 races with it here and twice some jealous assholes tried to put me into a wall cause they couldn't out run me or out drive me...lol (actually that same guy almost got his ass kicked that same day as people don't phuck around when it comes to that).