tmaxx starting problem

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fortknox71

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
New to hobby, hello all.
I have a Tmaxx 2.5 that I bought used. Ran it a few times and no problems. All of a sudden it will not start. When I try to start with the EZ start the light is not on for the glow plug. From what I read in the manual this should light up when you're attempting to start just like the motor light. The motor light does in fact light up. So I assumed it was the plug and rushed out to the hobby shop and spent my $7 for a new one. Same thing, won't start.
Excuse my ignorance as I'm new to this but when I try to start it it does sound like it wants to run. The flywheel is moving and all seems like normal but will not turn over. I don't know if this matters but there is fuel spitting out of the exhaust after I try to start for a few times. Is that normal? The guy at the hobby shop said either the plug or the starter. Any other experienced help would be greatly appreciated. I'm at a loss :(

Are you using the blue wire that connects to the plug or do you have a seperate glow plug ignitor? Also, did you make sure to prime the engine? (might seem like a dumb question, I know, but I would sometimes forget to do that and sit there trying to start). Fuel spitting out is normal for the most part, but you might also be flooded.

I removed the blue wire for the very reason that it was giving me problems with starting. As soon as I snipped off the blue wire on my new harness and used a glow plug ignitor, starting has been a breeze!! That might be your problem especially if you have replaced the glow plug already.

Last edited:
Thanks for responding theant.