Temp gun - How cheap can I go?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aeromotive

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hey all,

I'm new to these forums and I'm finding a lot of information thanks to your help! I'm in the process of breaking-in my engine and I'm shopping the net for a temperature gun.

Now because I'm new to this and my model is entry-level RTR (Kyosho DBX 2.0), I'm not keen on spending big $$$ for a temperature gun. I looked on ebay and saw cheap ones for 13$CAD shipped...
Edit : for example this one

Could anyone advise me on those? What's the difference between the ones made "especially" for RC and the ones I find at my local renovation store?

Another question : in my manual it says that my engine needs only one gas tank to break-in, but my local hobby shop said they would do three, and on the different websites I see up to ten! Which one should I rely on?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
every one I have broken in has been 5 tanks. and I have done a few.. on your sixth tank it is safe to mess with tunning if needed which it will be, because you are seating the piston and sleeve with the breakin..

the temp gun thing I am not sure about a good one because I know need to find a new one because the 2 I have are so far off from each other I am not trusting no more!! but there will be someone else that will have a good idea on that.

i have a cheap chinese temp gun...not the same as in your link ..mine is a small red one ....paid around 12$ shipped ....works well ..and seems pretty accurate