Team Associated VS Traxxas

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gibsontoad

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
I am new to the rc world and am looking to purchase an electric truck but not sure where to begin. I think I want a 4X4 and was wondering which brand would be best to start looking at considering a lower end budget? thanks for your help

Well first you have to tell us what you will be doing. Bashing, or racing. Also you need to tell us if you want an off roader or an on roader. Also you need to tell us what scale you want it in 1/10, 1/8. Also do you want a brushed motor or a brushless motor.

so many things that i dont really know...
I think I would be doing a bit of both bashing and racing. Will be off an off road truck 1/10 scale. would like brushless motor but cost will come into play so not sure what the up side to one vs the other would be. I was thinking that I need to narrow down what brand first then start narrowing down my selection from there.

Well to make it easy, brushless motors are much faster than brushed motors. Team Associated is a recommended brand for racing as well as bashing. You should go to your local track and see what kind of vehicles are popular to race there. There are different classes of vehicles.

Short Course Truck
1/8 Buggy
1/10 Buggy
1/8 truggy
Stadium Truck
Monster Truck

See what your track races.

ok...mostly will be racing with co workers who have Traxxas slash and stampede...I like both but not sure which style is best for all conditions. Was also looking at the SC10 4x4. I had a RC10t as a kid so I'm kinda leaning in that direction (associated) but not sure cost vs value either.