Spektrum 150a esc limitations

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

na96ek

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
  3. Boating
Hey guys, new to the forum here and just got back into the hobby about a year ago after a 15 year hiatus. I currently own few r/c’s including a 6s Kraton V5 and recently got the idea to power a bandit using a similar power system, with the goal of having just a ridiculously overpowered bandit that I can bash hard and keep the temps down. I started off with a XL5 version and I’m currently upgrading and customizing as I go. My question is related to brushless esc’s as this is my first time ever piecing together a brushless combo. I have already ordered another spektrum 150a to use for this project but how do you determine the motor limits? I am planning on running a TP 3640 2950KV motor which is a 3674 can with a wind of 5D it claims max amps are 140a with a max voltage of 20V I plan to run this on 4s to keep it below its max limits. Is a motors amp draw the primary concern as far as being safe on the ESC ? I understand not overvolting the motor but I have read so many different things online it’s hard to gather what is really accurate information. Also, I know Arrma says to use this esc on 4-6s but Other sources say it will run on 3s, I have not seen it listed anywhere that it will run on 2s? I plan to do mostly 3s and 4s running but wanted to have the headroom to change the motor and go to 6s if I desired. Also I am curious can the 150a esc run smaller motor if I desired? So long as it is rated for 3s?

Last edited: