Shocked by RC Battery!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justin1080

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I feel like such an idiot!! I'm a newbie to RCs and I bought a Hosim 9155 for my nephew. I was trying to unplug the battery to charge up before giving to him and was having trouble getting the plug apart. So I used metal tweezers to pry it open, thinking it was okay since the car was off. But man, sparks went flying and there was a strong burning plastic smell. Do you think I toasted it? Should I even try to plug it in again and run it? Has this happened to anyone else? It was pretty shocking, literally!

I'd say you did short the battery out, based on your description. To be safe, I'd replace the battery.

I'd say you did short the battery out, based on your description. To be safe, I'd replace the battery.
Thanks for your reply, do you think it's only the battery and the rest is safe to gift to a kid? He's still pretty young, maybe I should have got him more kid friendly rc. I thought to get a better rc, because I'm tired of buying them cheap toys that will just break.

The battery is probably toast, but do not throw it in the trash. Li-ion and LiPos both can cause fire if ruptured, so the best way to get rid of it is to bring it to your local recycling station or local hobby shop if they have the recycling service.