Setting up the BEC

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frickenjoey

Official RCNT Cyber-Bully
Supporter
Active Military
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Ok I am putting a CC BEC on my crawler for the simple fact the receivers just don't supply the juice they need for big servos. So I have two options of how to do this the standard way below or an alternate version I have seen done. Any ideas on which is better. In theory the alt method will supply WAY more current to the servo than the standard way. What are you guys running?

STANDARD SET-UP
rc_rock_crawler_ccbec_wiring-large.jpg

ALTERNATE METHOD SET-UP
49c2df22.jpg

Wow I figured some of the crawler guys would be all over this one. I guess I will just have to do some experimenting.

I'm no expert, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. I would just run the BEC and not the one on the ESC. The BEC should have more than enough juice to get the job done.

Sorry Joey, I never used one on my Crawler. With just one servo, and no dig, I haven't needed one. Sorry I can't help ya bud.

I run my cc the standard way & she does really well, never seen the alt. way

I have never used the Alternate method you show.

I either use the standard method or I power the servo direct from the bec and let the ESC power the receiver.

The reason for this is that the Futaba FASST receivers I use are only rated at 6V. High power servos can to go 7.2v so if I want to get the most out of my high power servo, I can't use the standard method since I could smoke my receiver.

On my Losi crawler I am able to use the standard method since it uses my DX3R and the Spektrum receiver it has can take 9.6v.