Savage XL 5.9 Break in

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iceman

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Just got through breaking in my new Savage XL 5.9. It was trying at times, but I got through it ok. I would not recommend the Savage XL 5.9 for first time nitro uses. Yes it was my first nitro, but I have a lot of experience in RC's and I always go big. lol Now I'm having fun and breaking parts. Got to get me a new receiver antenna and stronger antenna tube. Anyone ever made their own receiver antenna? Just a thought. Reason I broke it was because the only wheelie bar I could get at the store was cheap and would put the rotostart rod in a bind. Had to take it back off so I would flip truck over and watch it slide down the road on it's top. lol Got to buy a better wheelie bar. Got to get some upgrades anyway. What's the best online store to buy parts at anyone?

You might want to invest in an extra one way starting bearing that goes in the engine!
The little shaft that catches inside the crankshaft tends to shear off under starting stress.
I've went through 3 of them in the past 7 years!

You might want to invest in an extra one way starting bearing that goes in the engine!
The little shaft that catches inside the crankshaft tends to shear off under starting stress.
I've went through 3 of them in the past 7 years!

Ok, thanks