Replacement servo specs

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speck

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
HI All,
I'm quite new to RC and I need help to choose a replacement servo for my Kyosho Inferno MP9e.

I'm wondering if I need to be particularly careful on choosing the servo, like about voltages, current draw or anything like that.

The one that was in the car before has the following specs (it is widely regarded as a weak point in this RTR spec Inferno):
Torque: 124.98 oz-in (9kg-cm)
Speed: 0.15 @6.0V

I'm looking at the Savox range and the choice is a bit overwhelming. Can anyone shed any light on this for me?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
For that kit, I would be looking for a metal gear servo, with at least 150 oz-in torque. The more the better. And if you plan to race it, look for something with the lowest time/60°. Getting to .1 or lower speed will be a noticeable difference. From there, just whatever fits your budget. To increase your options, you can get an external BEC and find a servo that can handle more voltage, like a 7.4v or 8.4v capable servo.

For that kit, I would be looking for a metal gear servo, with at least 150 oz-in torque. The more the better. And if you plan to race it, look for something with the lowest time/60°. Getting to .1 or lower speed will be a noticeable difference. From there, just whatever fits your budget. To increase your options, you can get an external BEC and find a servo that can handle more voltage, like a 7.4v or 8.4v capable servo.
☝️ Agreed. Id personally look for something with 250 oz/in or better and I also like servos with less than .1 speeds although up to about .11 or .12 isnt the worst thing.