Proper full RC breakin procedure

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gummybear13

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hello everyone! I figured since this is my first project ever that I would post my questions here.

I have read the FAQ and a few dozen post on motor break-in and have read that most guys check for loose screws and such, but what I want to know is when you buy a brand new Nitro what is the order that you check it over and what extra care or mods do you implement right away?
I read somewhere to use permatex copper sealant and reseal the engine with it to correct leaks from the factory. any other good advice like that?
I have bought red locktite for the loose screw already.

Also What is the best method for motor break in? it seems like there is a dozen ways and every way is the best....I guess a better question is what is the most commonly used technique?

Thread moved to appropriate forum.

Don't use red locktite!!!!!!!!!! You'll never get the bolts back out with out heating them up. Use the blue stuff. Make sure it's removable locktite. Follow the heat cycle method, right above your post in this forum.

Threebond 1211 sealant is the best choice for sealing an engine as it is 100% fuel proof, the permatex will work but is not fuel proof and can peel off over time creating a chance for leakage.

When I get a new Nitro engine I do the following:

1. Unwrap it and check it out externally.
2. Pull everything apart and check the internals for any shavings or manufacturing issues
3. Correct any issues found
4. Flush out everything in clean Nitro Fuel
5. Re-assemble it and seal the backplate and carb neck with Ultra Copper RTV Sealant
6. Pre-heat it
7. Heat cycle it for @ 4 tanks