problem with engine dying after a while

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PTR4000

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
hi,

i've got a picco .26 engine and it ran great during break-in. I'm now on my 6th tank and all of a sudden it just dies after taking off the glow heater or pressing on the throttle.

I've got no clue why this is happening and I thought I'd see what you guys thought. I havn't touched the needles since break-in, but do you think the LSN needs adjusting.

I'm new to nitro! :dance:

thanks

First look to see if you have a leak in the tank or in the fuel lines. Onece you make sure it all is air tight come back and I will try to assist further. First guess if there is no air leaks is the idle is slightly low. Also always try a new plug at first sign of problems. Its amazing what a new plug does.

Originally posted by PTR4000
hi,

i've got a picco .26 engine and it ran great during break-in. I'm now on my 6th tank and all of a sudden it just dies after taking off the glow heater or pressing on the throttle.

thanks

sounds like a perfect example of a bad glow plug. 6 tanks after break in is past when a plug would normally go bad. change the plug, and let us know how that works out.

thanks for the replies!

humboldtblazer, I checked the tank/tank head and blew through the exhaust line and everything seemed to be air tight.

Nitroaddict, good thing you reminded me about the plug because I'd forgotten about that (btw, I'm using mccoy8). I changed it and the engine now idles ok but as soon as I press on the throttle it dies.

The 8 is a cold plug and if you use 20% nitro you might want to try the MC9 or the MC59 which I use and like. You are retarding the timing with a cold plug.