Parma Paint mask question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greywolf74

I'M TO BLAME!
Lifetime Supporter!
Supporter
Hospitality Award
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok So I'm not an expert painter yet with an airbrush so I bought my first parma paint mask set and I get the general idea of how you do it. I get that you have to weed it which I've already done and I get that you need to plan where your graphics are gonna go and all that but heres what I dont understand. I watched a youtube video on how to do transfer the mask to the inside of the car body but aparently XXX main gives you a piece of transfer paper thats as big as the original sheet of masking. Parma only provides you with one strip. Now I get that there strip is reusable but the main design for the mask kit is twice as wide as the transfer strip. Are you supposed to just cut the strip in half and use 2 pieces on it or how does that work exactly?

UPDATE: Ok so I tried cutting the transfer strip in half but the very tips of the edges were still sticking off the side. I ended up screwing the whole thing up.First off when I go to peel away the mask baking from the transfer tape parts of it dont want to come up....I have to go along as I'm peeling it up with an Xacto blade and help it come up off the paper. Then on top of that the design didnt work it crumpled and folded over on its self in certain areas where the body has alot of bends and curves in it. I tried laying it down in the middle first to it would line up and then smooth each side out as I went....It almost seems like the mask was made for a big ass 1/8 scale body and I was trying to use it on a 1/10 scale JConcepts Illusion body for my Rustler VXL.