noob Needs help

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nybrit

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
hey guys and girls love the forums just found them and i am enjoying the advise here

I'm new to this so plz forgive me if i sound stupid or am asking somthing that has already been posted a million time's

my question: is it possible to build your own nitro car from scrach up without buying a kit . I'm sure all the parts are out there but where would i get the plans for such a vencher .

my budget will not allow me to buy all the parts i need in one go .
so i would need to buy bit by bit and build as i go along ( which i think is half the fun ) i like the idea of building a on road touring car but dont know where to start what should i do first .

hope someone can help and thanks in advance to any that can

Welcome to RCNT!

be prepaired to spend many times more than getting a kit. For example, I want a new racing clutch for my GT4, a new 2 speed, solid diff, aluminum radio posts and bulkhead. For all of these, I will be out almost 300. A new kit with the clutch and 2 speed and everything else and then some, except for the engine and electronics will cost me 300. Now, if I were to get the kit, I would be saving hundreds of dollars because I would not only get the parts I want, but I will have a lot of other hop ups, and a bunch of spare parts too.

I say save up. not only will you save money, you will also be able to start building right away.

If you really want to build the car by buying parts at a time, you will need to get the instruction manual for building it. Go to the manufacturer website of the car you want to build and download the manual for the car. Most should have them available online.

Thank you and H i mjime714