Nitro Starter Box

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Citrix

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I'm completely new to nitro and am trying to do as much research as possible before I pull the trigger. One thing I'm confused about is the starting process of the nitro, and I was wondering if y'all can explain it to me a bit.

I'm building a kyosho inferno gt3 as I want a nitro and an on road since the only things I've ever done are off road electric. This kit calls for a...

Multi Starter Box2.0 36209
Plug/Cross wrench
Plug heater | Boost charger 2.0
Spark booster
Battery | Speed house 7.2V 36HV Ni-MH Battery

This is on top of the battery plugged in for the receiver as well as everything else the engine needs to run (Glow plug, which I'm also confused about and would appreciate an explanation on as well, and Nitro fuel)

Is there anything else I need to run the car on top of the engine and pipe, receiver and transmitter, 2 servos, receiver, and battery, as well as the things I've listed above?

According to Kyoshos website heres a list of what you'll need to make the car complete.

Capture434.JPG

So first thing I would do is watch THIS video and THIS video about "How to start a nitro". Now these videos use pullstarts instead of "bump boxes" (a.k.a. starter boxes). HERE is a video about how to set up and use a bump box.

As for fuel make sure you are using 20-30% nitro fuel with between 8-12% oil in it. Brand doesn't matter as long as the percentages are right.

Id also read through THIS thread on RC Nitros for beginners and THIS thread on Nitro tuning tips and tuning flow chart. Make a copy of the flow chart it will be invaluable for you learning how to tune a nitro engine.