New to hobby - best electric RC under $200

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LikeMike10

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi Everyone - I’m new to the hobby what is the best electric RC under $200. I’ve seen brushless are great. I just plan on using it around the neighborhood for now. Thank you!

Last edited:
Hi Everyone - I’m new to the hobby what is the best electric RC under $200. I’ve seen brushless are great. I just plan on using it around the neighborhood for now. Thank you!
One the I’m looking at. What do you think ?

Hosim RC Car 1:16 Scale 2847 Brushless​

Your best bet would be to buy a Traxxas ready to run Stampede or Rustler. It's going to be a brushed car but you can always upgrade it later with a brushless motor. Just make sure anything you buy will have Parts availability and upgrade options that you can purchase readily.

Thanks for your recommendation. I keep seeing a lot of stampede and rustler recommendations out there. Which one are you thinking? Also, how hard is it to change it to brushless seeing that I’m a beginner? Also, what are your thoughts about 4x4 vs 2wd. Do you recommend buying new or used. I’m think buying new since it’s my first one - what’s a good place for purchasing? Sorry about all the questions - thanks

Last edited:
I would not recommend anything smaller than 1/10 scale for general RCing, unless strictly running on smooth surfaces. Opt for a 2wd RC over a 4wd simply because of budget restraints. Pick a style of RC that catches your eye... buggy, stadium truck, short course truck, monster truck, or something else? Everything has pros & cons to them.