New T-Maxx 3.3 Break in/FOT Woes

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DontHitThat

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi everyone!

Let me just jump into this. This is my 3rd nitro truck. I am not a pro, but do have some experience. Also sorry in advance for the long first post. I like to be thorough. TL;DR : 3.3 troubles in breaking in, thinking air leak somewhere, will start disassembling and replacing parts.

Out of the box, would not start. Temp in the high 80s, low 90s with low humidity. Had to reset needles. Using Traxxas 20%, in quarts, not returning any unused fuel into bottle.

I barely got through tank 5 on a new 3.3 for break in. Tank 4, first run went great, then when you would apply throttle, it would just sit or barely move. One slipper pad gone, another only partially there. I'm reading this is pretty common. Pick up new parts a hobby store. Went with the aluminum pads for now. Only non-stock part installed.

Slipper replaced. Refuel, and try to start. No go. Reset needles. No go. Lean HSN, starts, runs horribly. Warms up, runs ok, but idle is way too high. Still a good amount of smoke. I try and adjust the idle and it does nothing. In fact, the needle inside the carb does not move (it is supposed to move, right?). I can put on the breaks or move the linkage and it idles down. Reset linkage, idles ok.

Run through tank 4 runs ok. Some stalling, still smoke. Cannot get it to WOT with it bogging down. Sounds horrible, especially from a high speed run and then idling. There is no way to describe it other than the high low sound of a donkey. At this point I am thinking air leak. No telling what might have happened when the slipper failed.