motor spins, nothing happens

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

market

RC Newbie
Reaction score
hey gang đź‘‹

I'm an RC noob with a brushless Maverick Strada DT and an issue I'm hoping some of you might be able to help me diagnose. I was driving it a while back and it suddenly stopped; no power to the wheels. It didn't slow down or start to malfunction, it literally just stopped dead.

I've had a look and it seems like there's two things potentially causing problems.

1. The small gear behind the motor (pinion?) isn't connecting with the big one (spur?). So it's spinning fast and nothing's happening. That's presumably the issue.
2. The rear left axle can't turn freely. It looks like the bearings are jammed, and it just won't turn.

So what I'm wondering is, would you expect these two things to be related? I figure I just need to replace one or both of those gears and potentially the bearings/axle, but the thing that I'm not 100% sure about is why it would just die suddenly. Like if the teeth on the gears have worn that should happen over time, right? Or would it be possible that if a single axle got stuck, that would cause the gears to spin and just grind the teeth out?

Hopefully I'm describing everything well enough to understand. Can also post some photos/vids of the gear if that helps. Thanks in advance!
Apologies also if this is in the wrong spot. The forums are huge and I'm not sure the best place for it to go. Cheers :)