Man am I in some Hot Water!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

godale03

Awesomer!! Than Rolex!!
Supporter
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Well... guys, I have learned a hard lesson this past weekend. I am actually quite embarassed considering I do this for a living.

My wife asked me to rebuild our PC this past weekend. It has been acting up a bit and it has been a while since it's last rebuild. I told her sure I would, but I would like her to sit down and backup everything she wanted backed up, because I have no idea what she has on that thing.

Well after she backed everything up to our external HD I sat down to get started. My first mistake was picking a time to do this while I was also responsible for watching my baby girl. My wife left to run some errands and the baby was asleep so I figured it was a good time. Well I started rushing through the processes.... Loading the XP CD and then deleting the patitions and so on. Well like an idiot I did not unplug the external HD so that Windows did not pick it up as a valid partition. Well rushing through everything so that I could get the formatting started before the baby woke up, I deleted the partition on the first drive listed.... the 80GB external HD. Almost immediately afterward my brain says to me.... hey, Dumbass!! Your primary drive is 150GB... not 80GB! My stomach jumped into my throat, and I immediately turned ghost white. I just deleted the back up! 6 years of my stepsons life... gone. 10 years of my wifes pictures, gone. All of our financial info, accounts, balances, reciepts, purchases, investment accounts that were part of the money backups... Gone! Password spreadsheet with all of our different passwords for email accounts, insurance accounts... and so on... Gone!!! All Gone!!