Lots of issues with traxxas stampede

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dupuis53

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
So i just got a traxxas stampede. I'm new to all this and i guess i need quite a bit of help. Let me start from the begining of my problems.

the first day that i recieved the car used, i notice that after driving it around for about 15 minutes that my spur gear was stripped, i soon replaced it and got back to driving.

once i got it started i realized that the car would not move with the throttle. the problem was the clutch bell not contacting the spur gear. i stopped the engine and loosened the engine from the motor mount. i tried to slide it as far ahead on the mount as possible but it would still not contact.

i decided to drill 2 new wholes for the motor mount so that the 2 gears would spin. i tried to start the car but it was very hard to get running, once on the engine ran and i drove down my street but when i slowed down the engine cut out and died.

Then i restarted the car and it died as soon as i let out on the gas. started the engine again and it took off at max speed and hit the neighbors house.

I guess my two problems are why, ( since the spur gear and clutch bell gear are the stock ones) would after wrecking it would i not be able to get the gears to touch and secondly whats wrong with the engine that would make it be so erradict?