Losi LST Problems!! HELP PLEASE!!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MAXX-LST

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Good afternoon everyone,

I recently purchased a used Losi LST, It ran great for about two days then i started hearing a clicking noise when i would hit the throttle. I didn't think much of it, so i continued to drive it. not its got worse it sounds like a clapping or gears slipping sound coming from the rear. I am new to Losi products so i haven't took it apart. The truck roles just fine with no resistance of any kind its just when i hit the throttle. Any help would be great.

Thank you

Odd, but does sound like the rear diff is shelled on you. Which is somewhat odd as I've gotten 14+ gallons out of the gears in my aftershock diffs. Replaced the diff cups/oil at about 10 gallons with the HD cups and 50K. Gears remain all original.

Or, your one way bearing in the two speed is slipping and your hearing it from the rear of the truck because that's where most of your forward torque ends up. That's a more prevalent issue than the diffs, but is hard to diagnose. Looking at the diff is easy, to at least rule it out.

Mine lasted roughly 8 gallons with HEAVY HEAVY stress on the rig, being my sled puller.

I would start at the wheels and work my way in. Check the hex pins and make sure one is not slipping. Check and make sure there are no rocks in the wheels. Check the outdrive CVD's and make sure you have not lost a grub screw. They retain pins that can come halfway out (before they drop all the way out). Then from there move on to the diff. I'm not saying it's NOT the diff, I would just work from the wheels in eliminating any other culprit first. Good luck!