Kyosho viper build need help!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rcjmazz21

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hi everyone I just purchased this kyosho viper from eBay. I’m new to rcs I’ve owned two before and loved them very much however on this one I just purchased I noticed that the throttle control mechanism is different on this one then the stock one on my other boats. Can someone tell me what exactly this is? It seems like it only goes foward and has a ground for the battery and the motor. I posted a picture below and circled it any info is appreciated.

Attachments

• 13EDA20E-FBC4-4FE3-A3DC-B874C057E053.jpeg
    13EDA20E-FBC4-4FE3-A3DC-B874C057E053.jpeg
    106.8 KB · Views: 89
Last edited:
Whats up bud. I'm not 100% on this. But it seems to be a esc electric speed control box. Have you opened it? There's probably a micro esc inside. Instead of the out dated mechanical speed control...👍

I've never seen one quite like that but my guess is its an old school mechanical speed controller. They dont make em like that anymore so you're probably going to be faced with trying to put a whole new electronics system in it. Thats my educated guess anyway.

Id do a total upgrade in all electric parts. New rx.new esc-new servos.not sure your what battery is. but why not lipo this..have fun hope u got this 4 a steal..

Is that boat a Nitro or electric? Could it be a forward/reverse switch?

Have you opened the box?? Take off cover and take a pic.. let's take a look inside

So I found out it’s a micro switch Zippy VHM-15 not sure how that exactly works in this case
I found another one in a different model kyosho viper.

Attachments

• B1489567-F919-439F-8957-C3E2F2FFE916.png
    B1489567-F919-439F-8957-C3E2F2FFE916.png
    889.9 KB · Views: 51