Immediate Advice Needed!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vxspec

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I am a complete novice with RC cars. I previously made a jump from a tyco RC to nitro. I need help purchasing an rc car so i stumbled upon a sale from ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=19168&item=5970774284&rd=1

It claims to go 60 mph on a .15 japan engine. The seller has a good rating score, so it doesn't seem too fishy, but the price however, does.

I don't trust myself spending this much cash without knowing if there are any scams involved, so i come to you RC Pros. Please respond and keep flaming to a minimum. I know you people hate newbies. :argue:

I don't hate noob's.
Also, that car.......
Don't do it.
Take it from a pro.

Wrong.......we WELCOME newbies. After all, every one of us was once a newbie.

I'd avoid this one. He has an excellent rating, but there's no photo, no really useful information on the engine or trans, and this is what's there:
....................................................................................................
Item Specifics - Radio Control
Vehicle Type: Car Power Source: Gas
Product: Vehicle - Assembled, RTR Condition: New In Box
Brand: ACME
....................................................................................................

What's ACME? Not an official R/C brand that I've ever heard of.
Doing 60 takes a lot of modification, and also makes any car almost uncontrollable.

unless i'm doing the driving.

Acme is a famous brand. The coyote always uses Acme products when trying to catch the roadrunner.

Its a knockoff of a real RC.
You, over time, will spend more time trying to get it running and on broken parts then its worth.

What is your budget?

Don't do it!