I am new to RC and on a 500$ budget. I want to be able to go fast but also go in the woods or over rocks

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian meyer

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I want an RC car in the $500 to $700 range that can go fast but also can go in the woods

Hi,
So, Is your budget for only the car, or is it for everything you need at the start (lipos, charger, radio, etc...)?
Also, what do you mean with go in the woods and over rocks? Do you want to be able to go crawling or do you just mean blast over offroad terrain on higher speeds?

The $500 is for everything but really if have a 500 to 700 dollar budget. When I say go in the woods I do mean just blast over terrain. Go through grass and over small sticks and rocks

Welcome in Ian. There is a ton of choices for RC cars but we can maybe narrow the playing field. Crawlers, Scale trucks are not designed to go fast however there are some rock bouncers that are pretty fast. Buggies dont have much ground clearance but are fun to drive on the track.
My advice would be a monster truck. Electric, Nitro, or large scale Gas trucks are a ton of fun but the first thing I would look for and I can't stress this enough..........."AVAILABLE PARTS" . When you are driving a RC vehicle its not a matter of "if" you break a part, its "when", so make sure you research available parts first. It's a awesome hobby and with your budget you can get into some pretty nice RTR "ready to run" rigs that come with transmitter, batteries, and charger. Usually you have to supply the AA batteries for the transmitter. There are also battery choices and i would suggest you to research that as well.. Have fun....

Well, with that budget I would get something 1:10 scale.