hpi wheely king

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

klown

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
hello all, i am new to the hobby and i was originally wanting a nitro but i found a great deal on a wheely king with the crawler package already installed, and a stinger motor upgrade from the stock motor... i am very pleased with the truck so far, but i am having some difficulties with it. is it normal to have some lag after squeezing the "go" trigger and the truck actually moving? and is it normal for the truck not to move the first time you press the throttle for reverse? as i am having to press the trigger a couple times to engage reverse and forward sometimes... the guy i got the truck from said the motor was the biggest motor available, i find that hard to believe as the truck isnt really that fast, I've been playing with it some inside my house lol... i greatly appreciate any advise i can be given and i am looking forward to learning a great deal about them

A crawler isn't really meant for speed. The previous owner probably installed the largest motor that the ESC (Electronic Speed Controller) can handle. You can upgrade to a better ESC that can handle a brushless motor. The hesitation may be caused by the motor binding. You might want to check that the wheels turn freely and that the drive shafts aren't bent. You might also check to see that the gear mesh is correct.

hamz is spot on, but one more thing. some esc's dont go strait to reverse. the first time you push the trigger, it "brakes" then you let off and push it again, you get reverse. this is to keep from smashing your driveline by going to reverse from forward at speed.