How to learn to work on your T-maxx

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtboogie

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I recently got a t-maxx right before Christmas. I'm new to nitro but got a hang of how to tune pretty quickly. Did the break in procedure truck performed great, had a small issue with when the body was on but then I cut out the windshield and back window and only oiled the primary air filter and left the outer one dry, and from then on truck ran great with the body on, of course by the end of the first week I had took a rough crash when I was going full throttle and then hit the breaks a little too hard and the truck locked up and did about 10 front flips landing on the front end almost every time. Broken bulk head and axel carrier, no big deal 20 bucks worth of parts. However I have no idea how to take the truck apart and am completely nervous to do so thinking I will never get it back together. So I take it to my LHS takes them a week and cost 25 dollars to do so. Once again, no big deal. About a gallon later, the slipper clutch went, bought a heavy duty rebuild kit, and decided I wanted to add a Integy 3 piece clutch and flywheel kit, as well as reverse. Took it too my LHS again and the guy told me it would be about 10 days. well that was January 3rd. I just got the truck back on Tuesday Feb. 15th Really wasn't happy about that. But the guy who did the work claimed the whole motor and trans had to come off and that there is 100's and 100's of pieces involved in installing the reverse and clutch and slipper clutch. This was of course why I didn't even think about trying to do any of that work myself either. But now I take my truck out yesterday, fires right up, find a good tune real quick. I had also had him install a