Help with RC purchase

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

galaxy_24

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Looking to get into RC again. I retired my nitro Jammin X1 CRT years ago. Still looking at a Truggy style vehicle but in a 1/10 scale with 4x4 drive. 1/10 looks to have a lower initial cost and lower cost of ownership. Plus I am looking to move to electric and I am new to LiPo and I don’t have any batteries or a charger which I will need to purchase as well. Most of the time I will be driving on a short track I have at my house with some jumps and clean dirt. There is a local indoor track that I may take it too which is a clay track.

I have been looking at the Habao Hyper TT10E. The price seems to be in the range that I would like to spend. I have looked at the X-RAY and Tekno equivalents but they are a little more than what I really want to spend.

I also have been looking at the Traxxas Rustler VXL. I know they are really not the same category of vehicle but similar price (looks like it just got a price bump). I just look at the Traxxas Rustler VXL and see an abundance of plastic which makes me nervous but parts for it are everywhere. Is there a different vehicle similar to the Hyper TT10E that you would recommend that I may have missed that I should consider? Or is the Hyper TT10E a good vehicle that I should purchase?

Any information is helpful.

Thank you.

I have a Rustler vxl and would recommend it it has a lcg and more than enough power to tear up the dirt and jumps. the plastic you see is a good thing, it has a little flex when you wreck and is less likely to bend than alum. if you run on 2s lipo you should be ok with stock axle shafts. if not and you run 3s you will have to upgrade the shafts with MIP Xduty