HELP: First Nitro RC Car

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlosort

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style

Hi, I am about to buy my first Nitro RC car and after the research I have done I have come to 3 possible choices:

Traxxas Revo 3.3
Traxxas Tmaxx 3.3
HPI Savage x 4.6

Since I have no previous experience on RC I am looking for the best value entry level choice which required the minimum extra parts to start running and tuning.

If possible I am looking for no AAA batteries (hate charging)

Hi, I am about to buy my first Nitro RC car and after the research I have done I have come to 3 possible choices:

Traxxas Revo 3.3
Traxxas Tmaxx 3.3
HPI Savage x 4.6

Since I have no previous experience on RC I am looking for the best value entry level choice which required the minimum extra parts to start running and tuning.

If possible I am looking for no AAA batteries (hate charging)

My recommendation is the Savage. It's tough, and out of all my nitros, I think it was the easiest to work with as far as tuning. Also, the Savage X series and newer are made to be easier to work on. All models that you've listed have a ton of fans and aftermarket support.

As far as batteries are concerned, you have to at least have a receiver pack. Best thing about that is that you don't have to charge it very often. If you have two, you could probably get a whole day of bashing without have to wait for a charge.

---------- Post added at 11:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 AM ----------

And with the Savage, all you need to get started is fuel, receiver batteries, and transmitter batteries. Just make sure you do the break-in process, and you can be bashing in two hours.