Engine Problems

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andeep

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
hi there I'm a Newbie on this site and this is my first post, i have had a nitro buggy for a while now and crashed it having to replace a few bits, since i am haveing trouble tuning my engine, i have looked at the flow chart in this forum however i only have a one needle set up on my engine, i was wondering if you guys had some tips. i can start the engine up but it is very erratic, it'll work fine 1 min and then the next will keep cutting out or wont start. i was wondering if anyone had a guide on how to tune a 1 speed needle engine thanks. also how many turns should my needle be open. thanks

You need to make sure you don't have any leaks. Especially after a crash. Erratic tuning is a sure sign of an air leak. The search function will yield you a lot of information on sealing engines. It should take minimal movement of the needles to tune from day to day, or weather changes. Usually no more than a half turn on the hsn. 1/4 turn on the lsn. Every engine is different though, even those made by the same manufacturer. You need to give a little more info too. What kind of vehicle, fuel type and age, glow plug age, ignitor type, ect... The more info you give, the better people can help you.

With a single needle carb, you have to tune it rich on the bottom end or it will be too lean on the top. I've only had one that was a single needle, but if I didn't tune it that way, it would get hot quick and shut down. Which is what sounds like your issue is.