Do i need a new engine (yes I'm new to nitro rc

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bgsoccergoalie

RC Newbie
Reaction score
So I'm older guy and bought my first nitro rc a couple months ago (volcano s30). I've probably only ran the car 8 times. From the very beginning I had problems with getting it started, i broke the pull start almost immediately, purchased a drill starter thinking it would be easier to start, well I was wrong, for some reason the engine would flood as so as I try to start, and after cranking and cranking un flooding and cranking I'd get it running well the last time I ran it I noticed metal shavings coming out by the starter plate. But it still started and ran. Well after putting it up for a week I brought it back out and tried to start it up and now the drill just spins, the engine hardly even makes a noise or the fly wheel spins a little but the drills spining as normal but the engine isnt doing anything.. I took the engine out took the starter off all gears look fine, I pulled the one way bearing out cleaned it , that looks fine. Idk what else to do besides buy a new engine. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas what's happened before I purchase a new engine. And take it easy on me guys. I'm like 30years old I always wanted a nitro rc as a kid so I went and got one, I've done alot of research I've been searching for 2 weeks now trying to find an answer to my problem but can't seem to find any post that fit my scenario.