Difference between a 2s and 3s LiPo

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtboogie

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I'm new to LiPo's and have a vehicle that is 2s lipo and 3s lipo capable. What I'm wondering is what is the difference between the 2?

Does one make the vehicle faster or run longer? Also, what does the "mah" on a battery stand for and what is its effect to a battery? Thanks in advance for any help.

2 cell LiPo is 7.4 volts.
3 cell LiPo is 11.1 volts.

Mah is milliamps.....or the battery's capacity. The C rating is how much your battery is capable of delivering over a period of time. If the C and mah ratings are too low you can watch your vehicle burn.

If you are you asking what is the difference between running 2s compared to 3s, then 3s is faster due to more voltage.

If your asking whats the difference between a 2s and a 3s then I'd suggest stick with nimhs as it won,t just be the vehicle that burns. There's settings for each type on the LiPo charger having the wrong setting will be real bad.

3s=more carnage and destroyed parts than 2s. If you're just starting out and want to go LiPo, start with 2s.

2s: Fun driving, controllable for racing a lighter vehicle.

3s: WHOA!!! HANG ON BABY, WE'RE GOING FOR A RIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mah=milliamp-hour. It's a measure of capacity. Basically the higher the longer run time you get.

2s = 2 cells in series. 3s=3 cells in series.
2s2p=4 cells in two sets of series then wired in parallel.

Cells wired in series increases voltage. Cells in parallel increase in capacity (mah).