Diff.?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbaker65

RCTalk VIP
Reaction score
Does anyone here know anything about different diff oil weights in the front & rear diffs do
an what each weight does for performance of a 4x4 on road car?

I think that I need a different weight set up in my diffs on my Ld3 on road car for
more better stability & control!
What I'm thinking is a heavier weight in the rear an a lighter weight in the front to help
control for spin outs.

I have no experience with this, but I understand that the thicker the fluid the less the slip. A thicker fluid makes the diff more of a limited slip diff, giving traction at both wheels.

I have no experience with this, but I understand that the thicker the fluid the less the slip. A thicker fluid makes the diff more of a limited slip diff, giving traction at both wheels.
In all of my years being in the hobby ,I have not ventured in the different diff oil weights!...:oops:

But what your saying makes sense.
My theory is that if I put a thicker oil in the rear it will lug the rear down some ,forcing more
transfer torque to the front ,maybe helping control spin out!..:cool:

Then again, if you want more front traction, if you go heavy in the front, you'll have a front posi...