Carbon Fiber Motor Mount Plate? Yes? No? Maybe?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RET4RD

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
So I'm about to buy some carbon fiber sheet and cut out some new parts myself. Among the parts getting CF'd was going to be my motor mount plate. Is CF strong enough for that kind of stuff, as long it's the same thickness as the original?

As much as I like cf, I would go aluminum for cooling purposes.

I wouldnt mind seeing your process. I always wanted to try working with it.

As much as I like cf, I would go aluminum for cooling purposes.

I wouldnt mind seeing your process. I always wanted to try working with it.
I actually don't have a process 🤷‍♂️ this is my first time working with CF. I asked around and people said things about just cutting it with a knife. I guess this warrants further research

CF dust can do a number on your respiratory system. Wear a mask and make sure you get any dust from cutting cleaned up right away. Also, run a bead of super glue along any freshly cut edges to help keep it from delaminating.

CF dust can do a number on your respiratory system. Wear a mask and make sure you get any dust from cutting cleaned up right away. Also, run a bead of super glue along any freshly cut edges to help keep it from delaminating.
Sounds tasty😋😋 will do

You're not going to have any fun cutting carbon fiber with a knife. You need a carbide burr bit to cut it. Wear a good respirator, not a dust mask. And I highly recommend a full face shield.

You're not going to have any fun cutting carbon fiber with a knife. You need a carbide burr bit to cut it. Wear a good respirator, not a dust mask. And I highly recommend a full face shield.
That's cool, cuz I got one of those too. thx