Best new nitro rc under 350

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OBS4EVER

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
I have 4 years experience with electric rcs but am a gearhead and love real engines. I am looking into my first engine powered rc. I have looked at the Baja 5b rovan and found it would be too big and impractical for my area. I know the nitro rcs are harder to tune and can be more finiky, but they are more practical in smaller areas. I want to keep my budget under 350 as I know fuel and other accessories needed to run nitro add to the cost. I have found many decent looking options and have listed them below.

-HPI Bullet st/mt $310-350
-Traxxas nitro rustler $335
-Traxxas nitro slash $350
- kyosho inferno neo 3.0 $350
- exceed Forza .18 2 speed $250
Out of these, which is the best or tell me if there are any other good budget nitro rcs. I would maybe consider a vintage or used one if it has good parts support. I would appreciate the input.

Last edited:
What's your terrain and driving style? I'm building a nitro slash, and had 2 nitro sports for over 10 years. The Rusty is the same but has a 2.5 instead of a .15. These cars are good for donuts and spinning around due to rwd. The other cars are 4wd and will have traction. I can say the nitro sport was the occasional drive shaft or spur gear and alot of fuel. The nitro slash may break more due to more torque.

The hpi bullet looks neat, almost like a nitro rs4 and savage blended into one. I can't comment on this or the kyosho as I have never owned one.