beginner woes

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nitro110

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm just starting out with a nitro car
i think i've got a AE .12 engine
i'm having so much problem starting her up. i have 3 glow plugs now and i've only been able to start her up twice now. it's done the burn-in period.
i've checked repeatedly for flooding and battery level.. but no matter how much pull it, it just won't start up. what else should i be looking for in starting it up?
i pull and pull but nothing happens :bow:

also. i think the motor calls for 15-20 nitro, what if i use 25?

and for glow plug, it recommends mccoy59, what about OS8 ? is that ok too?

Last edited:
You might try visiting the LHS that your picked up your vehicle from. I'm sure that they will be happy to help your get your vehicle running.

Make sure your fuel lines are primed. You should use some kind of transparent fuel line so you can see the fuel going into the carb. Is it hard to pull (flooded) or is it real easy to pull (probably not primed). Also use some needle nose pliers to hold your glow plug and put your ignitor onto the plug while its out of the car to make sure its lighting up. If your not getting a good glow, it might be your battery on the ignitor. Hope this helps a little.

nitro - this thread comes up alot, lol. Remember - for the engine to start it MUST have 4 things. Fuel - can u see fuel coming up the line and into the carb? Air - the air filter is clean and unobstructed? Compression - if u manually turn over the flywheel, can u feel resistance? Combustion - when u remove the glow plug, and put it on the igniter, does it golw bright?