Beginner recommendations

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RCNub

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
Hello Everyone,
i am new to this sport of RC and i would like someone to recommend a nitro starter kit for me. My sole purpose for getting into Nitro RC is because a friend of mine told me working on live cars would be easier if i understand how the parts work in a gas RC car as they are similar.

Thanks in Advance

-RCNub

Welcome aboard!

If you aren't sure how big you'll get into the hobby, I'd start with a big-brand RTR (ready to run) nitro truck of some sort. Trucks can go just about anywhere, making them more fun to drive/bash than a touring car (pavement only). Short Course is the rage right now, but few nitro offerings. I'd say a "stadium truck" type of truck would be nice, otherwise jump right into a monster truck. My suggestions would be either Traxxas or HPI. Two big names that have a good reputation, several truck offerings, and huge support online and at your local hobby store...

HTH...
Mark

If you want to relate r/c mechanics to full scale counterparts you may want to look into a vehicle that has the same type of components as you'd see in a full scale vehicle. So something with a transmission and a traditional drivetrain would be a nice touch. Monster trucks are great all around vehicles, can go just about anywhere and will give you probably the best overall relation to full scale. HPI Savages and Traxxas Revos are popular but if you want to save a little cash and still get something reputable there are the Traxxas T-Maxx or the always underrated Associated MMGT 3.0.