Beginner Car

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newrcia

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hello everybody, I am from Iowa and I am new to the sport. I am wanting to get a car, and I want a fast one. What car is good for beginners, and also very fast? Any replies are appreciated!

I always go with the Traxxas Rustler vxl or for another $100, Slash or Stampede 4x4 vxl. Fast and plenty of parts support. Part support will be vital if you're new and have a fast rig. You will crash.:)

Fast cars aren't always the best or even good for beginners. Take a look at some hobby shop websites see what you like then go from there. If you post what want on here I'm sure many people will give opinions on whether its a good idea or bad idea.

I always go with the Traxxas Rustler vxl or for another $100, Slash or Stampede 4x4 vxl. Fast and plenty of parts support. Part support will be vital if you're new and have a fast rig. You will crash.:)

So why do you suggest electric vs. nitro?

Oh, what are good hobby websites?

Amain Hobbies and Tower Hobbies are good places to start.

The 1/10 Scale Electric Savage looks like a good starter rig and it not very expensive for a first timer.

From someone who got very frustrated and stressed out with buying a nitro first. Go electric with your first rc.