Bed leveling and you

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJC_GUY

RCTalk Addict
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
  3. Scale Builder
I did a brief search and didn't see a thread so here is my question.

How are you leveling your bed? I recently started doing test prints and actively adjusting the bed as it's printing until I get the layer I like. Then I kill the print and use a feeler gauge to check the nozzle to bed height and note it on the filament box and in a file I keep.

Would it be easier to just use a consistent height and setup material profiles with different Z offsets?

Sorry if the question doesn't make sense. I'm still pretty new to printing and just trying to figure out the easiest way to do stuff. I'm asking here because we are printing similar things as opposed to a lot of the groups I've looked at where how to best print a vase may not apply to how to print a bumper or set of wheels.

I try not to adjust my bed any more than I have to. But a slight tweak here and there is sometimes needed, which is what I use brim perimeters for. I adjust on the fly.

Also been adjusting on the fly but then again WF is who taught me how to 3D print :)

Thanks again guys. I paid more attention than usual when the brim started printing last night and tweaked it a little as it went through the first couple of passes. Good adhesion and nice layering.

When I'm doing stuff I can't print with a full brim because I'm maxing the print area I'll probably use the 5 squares test file now instead of screwing around with trying to level first.