Battery Run Time

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Racer 1966

What are we doing today?
Supporter
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok so I'm a newbie with electric vehicles but I've got Slash on the way. I'm thinking I'm going to want a better battery for longer run times. I know the higher the mAh, the longer the run time but is there any basic rule of thumb on how much time you get from a certain mAh battery?
I know it will vary some by where/how you drive but just need an idea of where to draw the line on cost vs. increase in run time.

For nimH batteries, I've never really messed with them much, however I do own a 8.4V 7 Cell 5000 maH battery. I get around 25 minutes out of it. I highly recommend you just go straight to Lipo though. It's worth it completely. As compared to that nimH battery above, I have a 2S 40C 5000 maH Lipo and I get around 45 minutes out of it, plus more power and it was only around 5 dollars more.

You will get longer run times out of a lipo and brushless setup. So really it comes down to what motor are you running/planning to run, brushed or brushless. Also what type of batteries? NiMh or Lipo? Once those two questions are answered well be able to give you a better idea of what youll get outa time.

For now I'm going to have to stay with the brushed/NiMH stuff. I don't have the coin to step up to brushless/LiPo.

I've got two 4600mah and one 5000mah nimh batts and I get pretty decent runtime, usually 10-15 minutes of mostly WOT running. I really want to get some lipos but I keep spending money on other crap. :mad: