Adding Batteries to Motors

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bewildered

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a total noob when it comes to RC kit and electronics so I've got a really basic question which will probably have you all rolling your eyes, but I'm going to ask anyway cause I really need some help! :rolleyes:;)

My son and I have dismantled an old toy RC car in an attempt to convert it into an RC boat. The parts we removed from the car are:

* battery holder for 3x AA batteries
* PCB attached to the battery holder which has the receiver and 2 connectors for electric motors
* 2 electric motors

I have managed to undsolder the electric motors from the connectors and attach the motors from this boat kit.

It essentially looks like this.
current.jpg

The small plastic connectors on the PCB have 2 small cables going to the motor.

It seems to be OK so far, but here is the question... the power from the AA batteries isn't great and the boat doesn't go very fast. Is it possible to put a battery in next to each of the motors to give them extra power? It appears that each motor can each run on a 9v PP3 battery which gives them more power, but I don't want to blow the circuit board by putting too much power into that.

Rather than replacing the 3x AAA batteries powering the receiver PCB, is it possible to do something like this?
question.jpg

Putting a 9v PP3 battery powering the motor but still controlled by the PCB.

Any advice or suggestions to get more power to the motors would be gratefully received. If I have missed any useful info, please let me know.

Sorry for the really stupid, basic question but I've not done anything like this before and I don't really want to see our boat go up in smoke!

Thanks!